Shore
 HOME
 NEWS
 VIDEO
  SONG LIST
SAMPLE TUNES
 CONTACT
  ABOUT
 CALENDAR
 TESTIMONIALS
 LINKS

 

 

2017 Reviews/Client Feedback

February 18th, 2017

  • The best decision we made for our reception was The Free Downloads. George, Sheree, Neil, Riccardo, John, Marc, and Greg are incredible at what they do. Upon meeting the band at their showcase, we already wanted to get out of our seats and start dancing. The whole process from booking to planning the reception went incredibly smooth and George was there along the way to answer any and all questions we had. On our wedding day, our guests danced the night away until the very last song. The Free Downloads played a variety of genres and they play it extremely well. Our guests are still talking about how incredible and fun The Free Downloads were the night of our wedding. If you want a night full of dancing and incredible music, look no further than The Free Downloads, they will be the best decision you make for your wedding reception.
    (Kaitlyn & Bill, married in Providence RI)

2016 Reviews/Client Feedback

November 25th, 2016

  • We hired a jazz trio (piano/keyboard, acoustic bass and sax) led by Greg Takemoto, the saxophonist of The Free Downloads, because we wanted jazz and bossa nova for our daytime wedding. With music aficionados, pianists and Brazilians at our cocktail and lunch reception, the band was faced with quite a harsh audience to please -- and they did so with aplomb. They even managed to stick in a hava naguila, slowly ramping up the tempo, and then transition (we have no idea how) into more traditional bossa nova and jazz. The guests raved, and the band's performance went far beyond our expectations. Also impressive was the fact that they played pretty much three hours straight before taking a break (unplanned on account of not receiving the vendor meals on time), showing impressive flexibility and grace. We were so very very very very very (very!) happy with the band and their excellent skill in both playing and reading the audience and would recommend them in a heartbeat!
    (Melissa and Luciana, married in Boston MA)

Setempber 10, 2016

  • Best wedding band of all time! Trust us on this one, we've been to MORE than our fair share of weddings! The Free downloads completely exceeded our expectations. From the initial email up until the day of our wedding, George (the band leader) was patient and quick to respond with any questions we had for him. They even took the time to learn "our song" which was above and beyond! We had a fairly rowdy crowd but they kept the pace and had everyone engaged the entire night. Best decision we made for our wedding day was booking the Free Downloads! From one bride to another....Don't second guess yourself, or bother looking at other Boston based bands, these guys are IT!
    (Alisha & Fred, Married in Barnstable MA)

August 20, 2016

  • If the Free Downloads are still available, book them. They played for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception, and we could not have had a better wedding. These guys MADE our wedding. They kept everyone on the dance floor the entire night (guests ages 19-93) and everyone loved their style, energy, and how they got everyone involved. Their rendition of Shout could have been some of the best minutes of my life - it was SO fun. But every song they played was like this and we could not have asked for a better band. Our guests were screaming for an encore at the end of the night and they jumped right into the middle of a Journey or Springsteen song (can't remember because I think I blacked out with joy) and played up until the last second they were allowed to. I seriously can't say enough about these guys. Guests at our wedding said they were better than the other high priced Boston bands we were considering so don't look any further than The Free Downloads!
    (Jackie & Brian, Married in Wolfeboro NH)

August 13, 2016

  • I first found The Free Downloads by their stellar reviews on wedding websites. I contacted George, the band leader and he responded immediately. We set up a time we could see the band play a showcase and they were awesome! We were sold! I emailed George to hire the band and they were so easy to work with. George spent time getting to know how our wedding would run and what our preferences were. The day of the wedding we had a guitarist and violinist for our ceremony. It was the perfect background music for our ceremony. We had the full band for our reception and they were amazing! They knew how to play to the crowd and we loved how interactive they were with our guests. The dance floor was packed the entire evening until the place was ready to shut down around us. If you are hoping for a fun celebration where people are on their feet, tearing up the dance floor all night, then this is your band. Call George and hire the Free Downloads!
    (Matt and Tracy, Married in Warwick RI)

July 9, 2016

  • I can honestly say that the Free downloads made our wedding. From the very beginning, George was so helpful in making sure that everything went smoothly, and was exactly how we wanted it. They were extremely easy to work with, and very accommodating. I couldn't say enough good things about their actual performance. Out of everything from our wedding day, I got the MOST compliments on the band. They were energetic, and had the entire wedding dancing. I highly recommend this band to anyone looking to book for their wedding day.
    (Christine & Andrew, Married in Mystic CT)

June 24, 2016

  • The Free Downloads were amazing! George was so easy to work with and so accommodating with all of our requests. All of our wedding guests raved about the band. They were definitely a key component to making our special day so phenomenal!!
    (Sarah & Jonathan, Married in Portsmouth RI)

June 11, 2016

  • The Free Downloads are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! A family member had the Free Downloads play at their wedding first - and wow! When it came to our wedding, we knew without a doubt we had to have them! They were so accommodating and quick to respond from the very beginning. We had an absolute blast during our reception and our guests couldn't say enough about the band! They accommodated every request we had, and our guests are still talking about them! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
    (Dan & Marissa, Married in East Providence)

May 14, 2016

  • Three days ago, I experienced the wedding of a lifetime. The whole day, start to finish, was perfect. In large part, this was due to our amazing band, the Free Downloads. We knew on day one that we wanted a live band to play at our wedding. What we didn't know was that a band we had heard and loved (at our friends' wedding, 4 years prior and hundreds of miles away) was local. When we found out and went to hear them play, we were greeted by George, the band leader -- in a full suit. We were brought to an acoustically pleasing room with the full band, all in formal attire, and were entertained for 40 minutes with an entire set of music from all major genres. My husband and I joked with one another about whether we should just stop them and make a deposit already, but we decided to just continue enjoying ourselves. After we secured the band, they were terrific in keeping touch with us, learning the music we wanted played for the major aspects of the evening (announcements, special dances, etc.), and getting acquainted with our reception timeline so that they could usher our party through the whole night with ease and style. It started with cocktail hour. We had someone on piano and another on saxophone. I actually made it to my cocktail hour, so I got to hear them play -- I was so impressed and immediately put at ease that we'd have exceptional music all night. Our guests were on their feet the *entire* evening. People were raving about the band from the first song until, well, now. Today. Still going strong. Securing the Free Downloads Band was a decision we will never regret. Thank you guys!!!!! We love you and will use you again if the occasion ever calls for it!
    (Moira and Jeff, Married in Providence RI)

May 7, 2016

  • The Free Downloads are amazing!

    We emailed and called 30 local bands, and The Freedownloads were far and away our top choice. We knew from their website and from Facebook that they would be great, and they are even better in person! George (Bandleader and Guitarist) played classical guitar for our ceremony, and he did a wonderful job! George is a very talented guitarist and perfectly accommodated our musical needs.

    And The Freedownloads gave us the reception of our dreams! They had not performed at our venue in the past, but they sounded like they had played there hundreds of times. The instrumentals and vocal were fantastic, and the band brought tons of energy! The band played the perfect variety of music, and everyone was dancing. Nobody wanted the music/dancing the end, and everyone was raving about the band throughout the night and throughout the following day.

    And George was a pleasure to work with! George is very kind, and he was very prompt and thoughtful with his communications. He made the process enjoyable and easy! We will definitely be recommending The Freedownloads to all of our family and friends! The band provided both quality and value, and we would choose them again in a heartbeat! Thank you for the perfect wedding night!
    (Gregory & Kara, Married in Worcester MA)

April 21, 2016

  • We had a big corporate party and needed an energetic, upbeat and AWESOME band to play at the event. George and the Free Downloads fit the bill perfectly. They were easy to communicate with and sounded fantastic as well. They worked with us on price and we landed on one we were both happy with. They kept the music light and mellow for the first part of the event when people were chatting and mingling and then completely rocked out during the second part. They kept the energy up and had people dancing until the very end. It’s hard to find a band that’s so versatile, but the Free Downloads can really do it all. The entire band was amazing – singers, sax, drummer – everyone was perfect. We gave them a few songs that represented the vibe we wanted and they ran with it. They played exactly what we wanted. I can’t recommend this band enough. I’m hoping we have another work party soon so I can hire them again!”“We had a big corporate party and needed an energetic, upbeat and AWESOME band to play at the event. George and the Free Downloads fit the bill perfectly. They were easy to communicate with and sounded fantastic as well. They worked with us on price and we landed on one we were both happy with. They kept the music light and mellow for the first part of the event when people were chatting and mingling and then completely rocked out during the second part. They kept the energy up and had people dancing until the very end. It’s hard to find a band that’s so versatile, but the Free Downloads can really do it all. The entire band was amazing – singers, sax, drummer – everyone was perfect. We gave them a few songs that represented the vibe we wanted and they ran with it. They played exactly what we wanted. I can’t recommend this band enough. I’m hoping we have another work party soon so I can hire them again!”
    (Shapeup Corporate event, Providence RI)

March 19, 2016

  • The Free Downloads were the highlight of our wedding! They kept everyone dancing from the time dinner was over until the end of the night (they even played one last encore song). We went to two of their showcases in Pawtucket, RI and absolutely fell in love with their sound. They have amazing energy that gets the crowd going and they have such a great range of songs that there was something for everyone. They were so accommodating that they let some of our family members who are musicians play along with the band for a few songs. We had so many compliments on how great they were and would hire them again in a heartbeat! (Eric & Jennifer, Married in Narragansett RI)

2015 Reviews/Client Feedback

November 14th, 2015

  • I first heard this band a few years ago at a fundraiser and have been hooked on their sound ever since. I described my band to my guests in the months leading up to my wedding as having a male vocalist with a Stevie Wonder/Jason Mraz (Neil) sound and a female that sings like Whitney Houston (Sheree) with the accompanying artists bringing a very soulful funky sound. They play plenty of top 40 also, we just focused on the 80s rock and soulful music. George the band leader did an impeccable job following up with us when we had questions about how things typically flow and needed advice. (Ideally you only get married once right!?!) I have worked in the wedding industry for 7 years and was amazed at how many vendors didn't respond to us promptly or the details they were responsible for were not executed correctly and George was at the top of the list of the vendors that treated us well as a customer. It was nice to feel like a real bride after years of helping other couples. They also learned our 2 requested songs and played them like they had played them 1000x before. They were very flexible about last minute changes as well and certainly there were many. Book this band and you won't regret it, your guests will be dazzled! It was the biggest feedback I got at our day and after. My running joke at the reception was that we didn't really get married we just wanted to throw a party with a great band! I can't wait to see them play again someday where I'm not being pulled in 1000x directions as the guest of honor! I am so honored to have been able to experience something so magical!
    (Maggie & Dan, Married in Devens MA)

September 12th, 2015

  • If you're looking for a wedding band, look no further, because you cannot possibly find anyone better than The Free Downloads. Whenever we talk to guests about our wedding, the first thing they mention is how amazing the band was, and I completely agree. It really took our wedding from a fun event to an unforgettable party. We were worried that our guests might take some time to warm up to the dance floor, but to our surprise, we turned around and every single guest in the room was up and dancing once dinner was over, including our grandparents who we've never seen dance in our lives! Each band member has such incredible and unique talent and it all comes together so perfectly. They provided music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception and were totally open to any of our requests. George was an absolute pleasure to work with and was professional, kind, helpful, and prompt in his responses every step of the way. I truly believe that our wedding would not have been nearly as fun if it weren't for The Free Downloads, and as the bride it feels awesome knowing that our guests had an incredible time dancing and singing along with them. I highly recommend!
    (Kelly & Anthony, Married in Bedford NH)

August 1st, 2015

  • This was the most amazing band. My 90 year old grandfather, my 4 year old cousin and everyone else in between danced like crazy for three and a half hours. I couldn't believe it! We had an outdoor wedding and the weather was hot, and sweat was flying around the dance floor. I cannot recommend this band enough. By the end of the night, the venue had to ask us to shut it down because we were having such an amazing time and wanted the night to go on and on. Thank you so much to George and the whole Free Downloads band. We absolutely loved working with them and would recommend them to anyone. They were flexible, fun, kind, energetic, and wonderful musicians. We couldn't have asked for more. Just remember what my aunt Martha says "at a wedding, never skimp on the band". You will never regret working with these wonderful people!
    (Anna & Cyrus, Married in Kingston RI)

July 25th, 2015

  • We cannot say enough good things about The Free Downloads. They were absolutely amazing at our wedding! From the ceremony, to cocktail hour, to the reception they were exceptional! They brought to much energy and enthusiasm to the celebration. I’ve never seen so many people on a dance floor at one time. Our guests were so impressed by the band. We would highly recommend them!!
    (Meredith and Quinn, Married in Warwick RI)

July 10th, 2015

  • The Free Downloads were FANTASTIC! We hired them for our July wedding (ceremony and reception) and could not have asked for a better experience from beginning to end. They kept our guests dancing and managed to please a crowd of various ages. They are beyond talented! If you are looking for a great band and vocalists – look no further. We could not recommend The Free Downloads more! Thank you for making our day not only special, but FUN!
    (Beth & Mike, Married in Wrentham MA)

 

 

June 27th, 2015

  • When we first got engaged, one of the my husband’s must haves was an amazing band. From the initial emails about securing our date, to accommodating our unique venue, to the wedding reception itself, The Free Downloads made the entire process enjoyable. We were married on the Cape in my family’s backyard and at the last minute, rain threatened to dissuade our outdoor reception. The Free Downloads rolled with the punches, securing a spot in the covered deck. When the rain did come, we just moved the party inside and held the reception in our kitchen. Through the entire night, The Free Downloads were professional, energetic, and phenomenal musicians. They kept our guests out on the dance floor (kitchen floor) all night long. We would have partied all night long if we had been able to as The Free Downloads were the highlight of our reception! They helped us turn what could have been a wedding disaster into one of the most amazing nights of our lives. Thank you to The Free Downloads for an amazing evening that we will never forget!

 

June 20th, 2015

  • Where to start? Our wedding was one of the best days of our lives – and a big part thanks to our band, the Free Downloads. We had 120 diverse guests – young and old, from all over the US, and several from abroad. Lots of different music tastes. EVERYBODY loved the band and had a phenomenal time (can you say Congo Line!). The Free Downloads also did a fantastic job with the important stuff that goes on behind the scenes – ours was a DIY wedding at a nontraditional venue, which meant some unusual requirements. We also threw a couple of last minute requests at them – they are very experienced, responsive, flexible and accommodating. I can’t say enough glowing things about them. We (humbly, everybody) loved our wedding, and are so thankful we hired the Free Downloads. Our overall wedding budget wasn’t big, but they are a great value, and worth every single penny.
    (Tina & Ben, Married in Concord MA)

2014 Reviews/Client Feedback

  • The Free Downloads are amazing!! We had them at our wedding in November and they played during our ceremony, cocktail hour, and 5 hour reception. Having a great band was really important to us. We saw close to 15 bands before we made our final decision with the Free Downloads, and we hired them immediately the first day we saw them. They are, by far, the best band we heard! George is so easy to work with. He is professional, replies quickly to emails and phone calls, answered all of my questions and made sure I felt comfortable and confident about the events of the day. My husband is from Idaho and grew up listening to country music, and not the pop country on the radio. George and the violinist learned a song for our ceremony and they played it perfectly. The band learned another country song for our first dance and again, it was perfect. I think Neil sang it better than the original! Sheree is unbelievable! There is literally nothing she cannot sing. From Frank Sinatra originals to Beyonce hits, she can sing it all and will definitely get your guests on the dance floor. We had a very fun and energetic group of 200 guests at our wedding. My husband and I entered the reception to the band’s cover of Whitney Houston’s “I Want to Dance with Somebody” and all 200 people got onto the dance floor and started dancing.. this was at 6pm! The dance floor was packed the entire night and we even had guests chant ,”1 more song” not once, but twice, when the reception was over! This band is not only incredibly talented musically, but also fun, interactive with guests, and truly knows how to make a party one that no one will forget! I could go on forever, but if you are on here looking for a wedding band.. look no more- hire the Free Downloads!!
    Audra & Tyson 11/1/14 Quincy MA

 

  • I’d like to start off by saying that this was the GREATEST band I have ever seen perform at a wedding! The Free Downloads played at our wedding reception November 29, 2014 at the Chatham Bars Inn and they absolutely brought down the house. I had made a request to George asking if my grandfather who is also a musician could use their keyboard and play alongside the sax player for the cocktail hour. George was very accommodating and it was amazing to see the enjoyment my grandfather had playing. He raved about how professional everyone in the band was and how talented they were together. After dinner everyone hit the dance floor and didn’t’ leave until the wedding was coming to an end. People would have stayed all night dancing if they were given the option; no one wanted the music to stop. Since the wedding, my wife and I have received phone calls, texts and emails from our guests telling us that the band along with the wedding was unbelievable. I have already recommended this band to 3 friends that are getting married in 2015.
    If you want a band to perform at your wedding that is very talented, a lot of fun and upbeat then I highly recommend The Free Downloads! –
    Tommy and Chrisse Weymouth MA 11/29/14

 

  • The Free Downloads were amazing and so talented! We are still receiving comments from our wedding guests about how much fun they had at the reception in large part due to the Free Downloads. I’ve never seen a more lively dance party than occurred at our wedding! The best part of all was after the “last” song the entire crowd started a “one more song” chant and the Free Downloads took it in stride and finished the night with a favorite of ours leaving everyone on an amazing high when heading out the door! We could not thank them enough for their talent and professionalism. –
    Hellen R, Kingfield, ME

 

  • Amazing, truly amazing band. Throughout the planning process, George (the band leader) was always prompt, professional and honest in his correspondence. He was easy to work with and helped make everything run smoothly. Despite the other good reviews and listening to recorded tracks, I was still skeptical as I was unable to hear them live prior to our wedding. Thankfully, I was immediately relieved once our wedding began as they sound even better live than on the recordings. George played acoustic guitar during the ceremony, we had a trio play during the cocktail hour, and then the full band for the reception–all of them were great. George was willing to play any songs we requested for the ceremony and the band was even willing to learn a few extra songs on top of their expansive repertoire. I can honestly say this is the best wedding band I have ever heard (having been to a lot of weddings over the last few years). Not only do they sound incredible, but they get all of the little things right–breaks were timed appropriately, song selection was spot on, transitions both between songs and from songs to speeches were seamless, more subdued music was played during the meal, and (most importantly) everyone, from grandparents to teenagers, danced the entire night and had a blast. Now, more than six months after the event, people are still raving about the band.
    Bottom line: book them and you won’t regret it.
    David & Nicole Southport ME 8/31/14

 

 

  • The Free Downloads preformed at our wedding last night, July 26th, 2014. They were absolutely amazing and everything we could have asked for. As soon as we booked them for our date when knew we made the right decision- George was so great to work with and worked with everything we wanted. They learned three songs for us to make our wedding day so personal. George also preformed at our ceremony and even brought his Ukulele so we could have the Hawaiian version of “somewhere over the rainbow”. He also worked with my videographer to make sure everything could be heard for us to see later. Not only were they so easy to work with they were absolutely amazing live! Everyone was on the dance floor the entire night (exactly what we wanted). Both lead vocals were so good and they were so much fun! We would recommend the Free Downloads to anyone getting married in this area! Thank you again for an unforgettable night! Amanda George-Ryans and Chris Ryans, July 26th Little Compton RI
  • My husband and I had our wedding on July 5th on an absolutely PERFECT day in Wolfeboro, NH! One of the most important parts of planning our wedding for us was choosing a band. The music at a wedding can be the difference between a great party that everyone has tons of fun at and just a so-so wedding. But we live in Hong Kong, so choosing a band from the other side of the planet was a challenge, as we couldn’t just go see them! After a long search and watching many YouTube videos and reading the great reviews, we settled on The Free Downloads. First of all, George was awesome to work with. Responded so quickly to all our emails and accommodated all our requests, so easy! And at the wedding THEY WERE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! They had people on the dance floor the moment dinner ended. And I don’t mean like 3 or 4 people, there were instantly like 25 people dancing, which I have never seen at a wedding before. They played the perfect mix of songs for our crowd and everyone loved every second of it. One of my friends requested Shout… if you hire the Free Downloads, I HIGHLY recommend you request this. It was one of the most fun few minutes of the night! The singers were down with the crowd dancing and getting everyone so involved, I cannot say enough good things! In the weeks since the wedding we have had so many of our guests tell us it was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding, or that it was the best band they have ever seen at a wedding. Hiring the Free Downloads was the best decision we made in regards to our wedding planning. We love them!! Thank you so much Free Downloads!!!!!!
    Katie & Terrence Wolfeboro NH 7/5/14
  • My husband and I got married this June at the Kennebunk River Club Boathouse in Maine. We couldn’t have been more happy with The Free Downloads! They were awesome! They played every song we requested and engaged the guests. Everyone keeps complimenting us on how great the band was. Thank you SO much for making our special day even better than we expected! Highly recommend this band!!!
    Taylor & Cliff 6/28/14
  • The Free Downloads were an awesome addition to our wedding! It would not have been the same without them. George, the band leader/guitar player, was very easy to communicate with and great to work with. George also played classical guitar during our ceremony, which was well done and a nice touch. The sax and piano players played some jazz tunes during cocktail hour, which was also great! The band was able to learn two new songs for us, and they tailored their playlist for the night to our wants/needs. Guests from ages 14-85 were dancing all night long and multiple people told us they were the best wedding band they had ever heard. A few guests even thought we were playing a CD during dinner, when it was just the band playing in the background! We would highly recommend The Free Downloads to anyone looking for a band for any event! Bill &
    Alison 6/14/14 Lenox MA
  • My daughter and I reviewed various bands to play her wedding in Newport, RI and narrowed it down to a couple bands quickly. I can say without a doubt that The Free Downloads were the best choice! George and the band were great to work with – professional, friendly, and FUN! They played all of the bride & groom’s requested songs and played them GREAT! I am a musician and was really impressed with how well they covered the songs and how they read the crowd and kept the dancing going till we had to leave! If you have any Red Sox fans be sure and have them play Sweet Caroline…and Louie Louie for SURE! Sheree, the female lead singer has some PIPES and nailed everything she sang. So did Neil, he has a GREAT voice. Everyone in the band is a talented musician and they sound so great together. Everyone that went to the reception that I’ve talked to since keeps talking about how great the band was! Nice job gang, you made my daughter’s and our day!
    Shawn G. 4/25/14 Newport RI

  • What a GREAT band!!! Having The Free Downloads at our wedding was one of the best decisions we made. Our guests are still talking about how amazing they were and how much fun it was to be there with them. George was great to work with and was extremely responsive with questions. He was very organized and supplied us with all the information we needed. For our cocktail hour we did a folksy acoustic guitar with George and one other member of the band. It was really great. Our guests enjoyed the music and it was nice to have something just a little bit different. For the reception the band was unbelievable. They had the dance floor packed most of the night. Sheree and Neil sounded amazing. They came out on the dance floor a number of times and really got the crowd going.
    Megan & Joe (married 2/15/14 Topsfield MA)

2013 Reviews/Client Feedback

  • It is an absolute pleasure to write The Free Downloads a glowing review. The Free Downloads were outstanding! We knew the minute we met the band at our own private preview, where the band played for us in their studio, that they were the band we wanted for our wedding day. They had great chemistry with one and other and it was easy to see they love what they do. From there on, George was extremely easy to work with and very informative throughout the planning process.
    The night of our wedding we did not even have to think or worry about how the band would preform because we were so confident in them. The band played great music throughout the night and brought us and our guests into the New Year with a bang. All of our guests have told us over and over how great our band was and how much fun they had because of the band and the music they played. The Free Downloads got into the party coming down from the stage to interact with the guests. Everyone was on the dance floor all night and after the ball dropped and the wedding was coming to an end people were asking them to continue playing (no one wanted the night or the music to end). I would highly recommend The Free Downloads if you want a perfect mix of music, musicians who are passionate about what they do and committed to making your wedding day extra special, and your guests on the dance floor from the time dinner ends until the wedding is over (and even then still begging for more music).
    Thank you to The Free Downloads for helping make our wedding reception amazing and unforgettable! We hope to be able to have you at another one of our parties in the future.
    Anthony & Vanessa
    Wedding: 12/31/2013
  • Hands down the best part of my wedding!!! From the timing of the music to the types of music played, everything was perfect. The Free Downloads kept our guest dancing all night… When planning our wedding we decided on a cocktail reception. In order to make it a success we knew that would require a great band. Well, that is exactly what we got.. Since we only heard a few demo’s prior to hiring them I was slightly nervous.. As soon as they played their first song I knew we made the right decision. My guest are still talking about the band. Sheree’s version of Sexy Back was awesome.. Neil and the other musicians are some of the best around. George was great to work with. He responded quickly to all of my emails and phone calls. Thank you all so much for truly making our wedding one of the best days of our lives.
    Jodi & Kevin Narragansett RI 9/21/13
  • My husband and I cannot say enough about The Free Downloads.. they were truly exceptional. I always knew I wanted to have a band play for our wedding.. and what a band we had! From the very first communication, George made the process so easy for us. I would not hesistate to hire them again and have recommended them to our engaged friends in the hopes to hear them again. It’s two months later and we have not stopped hearing great feedback from our guests about the level of talent for the entire band. From ages 3-93 our guests were dancing all night long.. My only regret is not starting our reception earlier to hear them play longer!! –
    Jess and Matt S, Stowe, VT
    8/31/13
  • What can I say? So talented, so fun! The Free Downloads went above and beyond (both the months leading up to & the day of) to make our wedding SO special and fun. They learned a number of songs for us that weren’t already on their HUGE playlist. They kept the dance floor packed the whole night! Sheree ( the female lead singer) came out into the crown to sing SHOUT. It was wild! My husband and I are so incredibly happy we were able to have them at our wedidng.
    Heather and Mike, married 8/24/13 in Wolfeboro NH
  • The Free Downloads played at our wedding in July and absolutely brought the house down! The reception was on Peak’s Island off of Portland, ME, so there were logistics involved in getting the equipment across that didn’t phase the band at all. George, the ‘team captain,’ was very easy to work with and even provided a track for a family member that was going to sing at the ceremony for her to practice. I can’t remember a moment throughout the night where the dance floor wasn’t completely full! The tambourine was passed around from 3 year-olds, to full grown men who were welcomed up on ‘stage’ to sing. They learned Justin Bieber’s ‘One Time’ for us and performed it flawlessly. The crowd went completely wild! I can’t imagine our wedding without them and we’re forever grateful for the memories they helped us make. HIGHLY recommended for your big day from us!
    Emily and Meg July 13th, Peaks Island ME
  • The Free Downloads are without a doubt the best band I have been privileged to work with and be entertained by. They are incredibly talented musicians, play to their audience, keep the energy and vibe at the right level (in our case…very, very…very high), and amazing people to work with. They played at my daughter’s wedding and after 3 weeks not only are we still talking about them, people from the resort are still talking about the amazing band that played at Jay Peak on 6/15. I will continue to recommend them and hope to see and hear them again very soon…If you want the very best go with the Free Downloads, they will absolutely exceed your expectations.
    Morgan S. (Father of the bride) 6/15 Jay Peak, VT
  • The Free Downloads performed at our wedding this June and they were FANTASTIC!!! The dance floor was packed almost the whole night through! I had wedding guests say that they have never seen so many people on the dance floor at a wedding. Not only did they play great music and provide a fun atmosphere, George also helped keep our wedding ceremony running smoothly. He let us know when things like the cake cutting, the parent dances, and the bouquet toss were going to happen. He also found us right away when we arrived at the reception to let us know when we were going to be announced. George was absolutely wonderful to work with, even before the wedding day. He always responded quickly when we e-mailed him and he made the preparations for the wedding reception so easy and relaxed. It definitely put my mind at ease about the wedding reception after talking with him. Our wedding reception was such a blast and i credit that to the Free Downloads. We honestly could not have picked a better band. I would recommend them to anyone looking for an awesome band for their wedding day! —-
    Heath & Tara June 29th W. Kingston RI
  • “The Free Downloads were incredibly flexible and accomodating AND great to work with. We had special requests for our event that they were more than willing to accomodate. George was my contact and he was super about helping us out from beginning to end, AND a pleasure to work with. THe band was phenomenal too! Everyone loved them and they had the crowd up and dancing the whole time. Their music is super=like listening to whatever band or sound they are doing, rather than a weak imitation which is frequently the case! Loved them!”

    Carol G. (Mother of the bride, Bristol RI 7/6)
  • The Free Downloads were AMAZING! We hadn’t heard them live before our wedding, but took a leap because we had read so many wonderful reviews and emailed with a few recent couples who had them perform at their wedding. They definitely made our reception outstanding and people are still talking about how awesome they were! They are very talented and can perform a variety of songs with male or female leads. They are great at reading the crowd and playing songs that people are excited to hear/dance to. George was extremely responsive and friendly leading up to the wedding and they were open to our ideas/music preferences. They learned a song for our first dance and they did a wonderful job with it. We had a long reception and people were dancing and having a blast the entire time. We had the same experience as another reviewer, which was at the end of the night, everyone was cheering “one more song” and they came back out to play another one. They were awesome. —-
    Nick and Marie 5/11/13 Topsfield MA
  • We were more than pleased with the band’s performance of our daughter’s and son-in-law’s wedding. The “Simcha Dance” (Hora) was asolutely terrific and we appreciated all the time that the band put into it. Many of our guests commented on the quality of the vocalists’ voices and the band’s great sound. The band was responsive to our requests and learned a wide variety of music (from Motown to current and everything in between.) We were very satisfied and the music lived up to our expectations.

    -Ellie and Charlie Miller (parents of the bride) Portland ME 5/26/13

2012 Reviews/Client Feedback

  • AMAZING. This was the best money we spent on the entire wedding! Booking and planning was SO easy with George. He responded within a day and met with us a few times to discuss songs, etc. We made up a great play list and they far exceeded all of my expectations!We had a long reception – cocktails for an hour (the keyboard player played for this) and a 5 hour reception. Guests danced from 7:30 through till 11PM – at the end people were screaming “one more song” they of course played an encore set for us. I have never been to a wedding with a better band! BOOK THEM – they are seriously great!!! Rachel & Eric D. Providence RI 12/1/12
  • “This band is AWESOME! My husband and I LOVED them, and our guests are still talking about how wonderful they are! George is very nice and extremely easy to work with. They are GREAT listeners and will accommodate anything!!! I would highly recommend this very talented, very FUN band with a GREAT repertoire!!! Definitely hire them for your wedding or event!!! They’re GREAT!”
    – Andrea L. Topsfield MA 11/10/2012
  • Wow, where do I start? This band is phenomenal! We couldn’t have been happier with their performance at our wedding. Everyone loved the singers, the song choices and most importantly the energy they brought to our big day! Our guests couldn’t stop raving about them and neither can we! They put a huge amount of time and effort into making our day perfect, including learning another song in the last couple of days before the wedding (Call Me Maybe, which completely brought down the house!), sticking exactly to the songs we asked them to and just taking so much care in everything they did. George is an awesome guy and so professional. He responded to all of my emails promptly – faster than any of my other vendors – and was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. I couldn’t think of one negative thing to say about this band. They exceeded our expectations and I plan to recommend them to anyone who’s willing to listen. In fact, one of our guests who’s getting married next year and already has a band booked actually took down there name and is thinking of changing his plans – that’s how great they are! Book them!
    Emily & John Peaks Island Maine 7/21/12
  • The Free Downloads are an awesome band and equally awesome to work with! We hired them for our wedding and are thrilled we did. They have an extensive list of great songs to pick from. We liked so many songs that we had a tough time narrowing down the ones we wanted played. They even offered to learn a song for our first dance. Sheree and Neil sung their hearts out and got everyone up and dancing! George, the band manager, was fantastic to work with; he was extremely responsive and made the whole process very easy. We received so many compliments from our guests on The Free Downloads; if you’re looking for a band that makes the entire party dance all night we very highly recommend them!
    – Josh & Erin T.Jamestown RI 7/27/12
    Choosing The Free Downloads to play at our wedding reception was one of the best decisions we made. We never had the chance to hear them in person before the wedding but after searching for bands and being disappointed in song selection (and lack of modern, fun, upbeat songs), when we came across their website with audio clips and their extensive song list, we knew we had to book them! We were not disappointed. George Leonard was extremely responsive and worked with us to ensure we had a play list we were happy with, and was very flexible throughout the whole planning process. George even did the announcements for us before the band was scheduled to play. We were thrilled to find a band with such a talented female and male vocalist, and they truly exceeded our expectations. Their songs had everyone on the dance floor, and managed to keep the energy level up the entire night. They were even gracious when people wanted to join in on the playing/singing, and shared their stage willingly! We had such an amazing time dancing with our family and friends — it was a night we won’t ever forget! We continue to hear reviews raving about the music from our guests. If you want the dance floor packed on your wedding night, we highly recommend The Free Downloads for your wedding – you won’t be disappointed! We couldn’t have asked for a better band for our wedding.
    – Ashley & Dan Kesack, Washington, DC, 7/7/2012
  • The Free Downloads were amazing. From the start, George, the band leader, was in consistent contact. Their songlist seemed endless and is a beautiful balance of new and old, variety of styles, and slow and fast. We were very happy with the balance of male and female singers, and the different instruments they had within the band. They learned two songs for us and played them beautifully. Their first set they played a relatively calm set which allowed some of our older guests to enjoy a slow dance, but then ramped it up towards the end of the night to cater to the younger crowd there to dance. They were truly the hit of our wedding and we recommend them to all. — Gary S, Charlemont, MA, 6/30/2012
  • I never got a chance to see The Free Downloads play in person before the wedding but after listening to their audio/video clips, I knew enough to know that they would put on a great show. It didn’t hurt that they are a 7 piece band and lead by a male AND female vocalist. (Sheree – you got pipes!) That said, their performance on our big day surpassed my already high expectations. They learned our special requests and my bride was very appreciative of the fact that they waited until she and I were on the dance floor to play her favorite song. All of our friends and family were very impressed and are still raving about the band’s performance. They ROCKED!!! — David H, Newport, RI, 6/15/2012
  • Picking a band was one of the most important factors in my wedding planning. My friends are all music people and it was important we had a band that would get people dancing. The Free Downloads exceeded every one of my already high expectations. I knew they sounded amazing in the studio samples. I would say they sounded just as awesome, if not better, in person. They learned all the music we asked them to and they sounded incredible. They were fun, funny, and energetic. They played until the last moment our venue would let them. George, the bandleader, was great to work with and flexible. I was even emailing him the morning of the wedding. Hire them! — Annie S, Peabody, MA, 5/4/2012

2011 Reviews

  • This band is amazing!! We hired the Free Downloads for my wedding reception last month and they were fantastic. They are professional, accommodating, fun and an extremely talented group of musicians. The booking process couldn’t have been any easier and they promptly answered all of my emails and phone calls. All of my guests kept saying how much they loved this band! We had a backyard reception and even neighbors were dancing to the music in their yards. I would highly recommend them for any of your future events. They will rock your event!! Kristina L. Swansea, MA 7/23/2011 — Kristina L, Swansea, MA, 7/23/2011
  • The Free Downloads are AMAZING!!!!! They are the BEST band! Their music is a great selection of modern pop and some oldies, but goodies. From the moment they started playing (love their version of At Last Love), everyone was dancing and didn’t stop until the end of the reception. I think I saw some people cry (ok, I admit it was me) when they were finished. They kindly played a few more songs to help ease our disappointment. All the guests said they were the best band at any wedding. The band manager was extremely prompt and patient in returning all our emails and they even learned several new songs per our request. Book them. Your guests will rave! — Paige R, Block Island, RI, 6/23/2012
  • The Free Downloads are awesome! They were very accomodating during the whole planning process for our wedding. Guests were coming up to us before the wedding was even over to rave about them! We are so glad we chose to go with a band over a DJ and this band is sure to make your event a success. We are so grateful that they were a part of our special day. — Leah P, Rye, NH, 8/27/2011
  • The Free Downloads made my wedding reception a BLAST! Not only does their talent far surpass any other band I have heard at a function or wedding reception before, but they are so professional and so much fun. My husband and I requested for them to sing “Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon for our first dance, and they nailed it! I think the greatest compliment is when your wedding guests are still talking about the band a month later! If you are looking for a band in the New England area there is no need to look any further. You will not be disappointed with the Free Downloads. They will EXCEED all of your expectations, and your guests won’t stop dancing all night! — Carolyn T, Cape Neddick, ME, 7/31/2011
  • I hired The Free Downloads for a charity harbor cruise and they were great to work with… from beginning to end. Not only did they get the crowd going on the dance floor but they were great to work with. I could not have asked to work with a better band. We received nothing but compliments from all of our guests. We look forward to hiring them again!!!! — Sheena M, Boston, MA, 8/19/2011
  • We could not have been happier with The Free Downloads’ performance at our wedding, we’re so glad we found them! They were extremely professional & accommodating, learning songs from Sinatra & Bobby Darin to klezmer to I’m On A Boat. Their performance was fantastic. They are not only extremely talented, they’re also really fun people–they kept everyone dancing for their nearly six-hour set. One guest said she would hear a song and think the iPod had been plugged in, only to realize the band was still playing as they nailed every song, from Beyonce to Nora Jones to Bon Jovi to Cee Lo. They were an absolute pleasure to work with, we can’t recommend them highly enough. — Alicia L, West Kingston, RI, 7/3/2011
  • The Free Downloads are an amazing band. From the booking process to the day itself, they were incredibly accommodating and helpful. And not to mention, TALENTED! They read the crowd well, keeping the music jazzy during dinner and then getting everyone fired up for dancing after dinner. Our guests commented how much fun they had tearing it up on the dance floor and we couldn’t agree more — they even got those who ‘don’t dance’ onto the dance floor! Thank you for being such an integral part in our perfect wedding night! — Sarina & Robert S, Chatham, MA, 6/25/2011
  • From the moment we asked The Free Downloads to be our wedding band, I knew we had made the right decision. They returned all my emails promptly and were so helpful and accommodating during the entire planning process. When our big day finally came, they were everything I hoped for and more. Every one of my guests was on the dance floor until the end of the last song (and then the end of the encore). I got countless compliments from everyone who wanted to know where I’d found this amazing band. Thank you so much to everyone in the band for helping to make our wedding day perfect! — Jessica M, Holliston, MA, 6/4/2011
  • We at mylifelist.org could not have been more thrilled with the Free Downloads. They came to rock it, accommodating every detail, playing songs that had meaning for guests at the Life Listers’ Ball, building the party spirit with skill and talent. Their voices and musical ability was incredibly impressive, huge voices, great song choices, not a note missed. Their timing of breaks and ability to keep the crowd engaged and dancing was amazing. We could not have thrown such a successful party without them, and won’t attempt it in the future without them! They were stellar in every way. Thank you, Free Downloads! We look forward to working with you again and again. — Shelagh B, Boston, MA, 2/5/2011

2010 Reviews

  • A professional vocalist myself, I initially hired these guys because of their amazing vocals! Everyone in the band is exceptionally talented on many levels. They had everyone at the wedding dancing, and the reception was absolutely seamless! They played everything they promised and none of what they didn’t and couldn’t have been more accomodating across the board! They were by far one of the highlights of our special night, we’d hire them again in a second! Many thanks! Kelly & Jared Lemos — Kelly T, New Castle, NH, 9/18/2010
  • From the moment they arrived to the time they left packed up, the Free Downloaders were nothing but professional, accommodating and very talented. They were very pleasant to work with and they helped make our special occasion a real joy. i don’t have enough fingers to count how many guests commented on how good these musicians were. I wouldn’t hesitate in the least to recommend them to anyone looking for a great band and group. Thank you so much for adding such an important part to our reception. Jim and Frank — Frank D, Cranston, RI, 10/9/2010